top of page

Guided Math Rotation

On Tuesday, 10\November\2015.

at 8:20 am

Grade 2\E

5 outcomes.

One hour, 10 minutes for each activity and 10 minutes for cleaning up.

In the beginning, I showed them a PowerPoint about how we would rotate and I explained them the direction that they had to move. They understood me although they didn’t do the guided math rotation so far. There were 5 groups yellow, blue, orange, green and red.

I was in the red group and I taught a new outcome. However, all other groups did the old outcomes that they took with me before.

Yellow group.

The outcome was about 2PA1 continue and create repeating patterns and find missing elements. The outcome taken before, they knew the activity and they did it before with me. They created different pattern by using pasta.

Green group.

The outcome was about 2NAS4 partitioning to add and subtract two digit number. The outcome taken before so they allready knew the activity. I taught some groups the outcome. They used seeds for partitioning to add and subtract two digit numbers.

Orange group.

The outcome was about - 2MDT4 predict and check to compare the duration of familiar events. They took the outcome before and they knew how to compare between clock and the digital time. It was easy for all students.

Blue group.

The outcome was about 2NAS5 subtracting two digit numbers. I taught the outcome several times and it became easy for all the students. They like the activity and they did it correctly.

Red group.

The outcome was a new outcome for them, it was about 2NMD1 represent and determine 'how many?' when objects are grouped or shared equally. I used cubes and plates to explain the outcome. I gave each students two plates and I put equal certain numbers cubes in each plates. I asked how many plates do you have? I wrote their answer on a small white aboard then I asked them how many cubes in each plate? I wrote their answer then I asked them how many all the cubes? I wrote down their answer and showed them the multiplication operation on the board. They really understood the lesson and liked the lesson very much. it was easy to teach them the outcome, especially when I use authentic material to teach it.

Guided Math Rotation

The Guided math rotation went very well, I really like the guided math more than teach whole class and group activities. I thought the students learn by guided math rotation better as I saw in this day. I had fun with the way. I didn't think it would be like what it was. I got benefits when I did the guided math such as my ways to teach improved more and more.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow me
  • images
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page