top of page

Second Week

The Second Week in my TP

Week 2 Oct (18-22), 2015.

In my second week at Mazyad School, Cycle 1. In grade 2 mixed (boys and girls) 2\F – 2\E.

This week was about math and English week, I taught four math consecutively lessons (19-22). In this week I taught

  1. 2NAS1 Recall addition and subtraction facts to 10 (orally).

  2. 2NAs5 Use and describe reversing with other strategies when subtraction two digit numbers.

  3. 2NAS4 Use and describe partitioning to add and subtract two digit number ( Focus-subtraction).

  4. 2NAS1Use and describe Known facts to add and subtract.

  5. 2NAS8 Model, use and describe numeracy strategies to solve addition and subtraction word problems involving numbers up to 2 digits.

  6. 2MDMI Estimate, measure, record and compare the length of given objects using non-standard units.

I taught all levels in different times. We didn't rotate the classes in this week, I took a big group, my teacher took another big group in three days, and in two following days I taught the whole class.

it was very difficult to manage a big group, I faced different problems with big groups, sometimes I could manage them by using classroom management such as (( sticker, happy face drawing on the board, jelly). In same time, the students were very noisy I got tired of them, but as teacher, I have to be very patient and think about strategies that help me to engage them very well.

I taught math lessons twice a day because we had two classes (2 F, E). However, always my lesson in the morning was better than afternoon, because the students were very active and wanted to move and play after lunchtime.

I used rubr

ics two days and following days I used my notebook to monitors my students, it helped me to know who didn’t get the lesson well, who needs more help in the lesson and who were very good in the lessons. In addition, it made the students focus on their work when they saw me I wrote something or see the faces in my papers. I liked to use rubrics more than notebook but I used notebook more than rubrics because I would like to write different notes about each student.

I saw the students had used different math strategies such as, using their fingers to account, mental math and write a number model. I taught them to use cubes to subtract and addition. The problem that I faced with very lower group (boys), they played with cubes to make cars or gun. I was thinking to use different strategies with lower groups because they just liked to talk and play.

I had four math lessons, On Tuesday, I like my lesson much because the students worked hard, In the End I made math competition between boys and girls. I wrote addition problem on the smart board and picked up one student to solve it and her\his team could help him\her. they were happy.

my college mentor observed me on Wednesday, in this day I changed the routine and I taught whole class, in the opening stage, I showed them all the activities that they have to do. During the activity stage, I walked around them to help them and see if they understood the lesson. The activities were in a higher level, they had to pick up number that was written on the bottle cover and read the words then think what sign (addition or subtraction) they have to use. Middle level, they used cubes to solve the problem that they read in the card number. Lower level, they played addition and subtraction puzzle game.

In this day, My schoolteacher didn’t do anything. I did my lesson alone in two days (Wednesday and Thursday) but on Monday and Tuesday, I taught my lessons but my teacher taught one center in the activity stage.

On Thursday, I taught about measurement, I taught them what can they used to measure long of objects such as, carpet, board, bottle and marker. I liked the lesson but I faced some problem in the afternoon class.

English lesson, the teacher taught them about preposition and she read the story Rosie’s Walk. They did different activates. I was with center that had to order the events and I helped them, it was nice and I liked.

I noticed that, they like to sing songs and when the teacher sang they were focused on her and tried to sing with her, I liked that.

I challenge myself everyday to get better and better, I listened to my school mentor advises and tried to do what I have to do. ( not to be very nice, speak aloud, Use class Dogo to manage them).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow me
  • images
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page