top of page

Fourth Week

The Fourth Week in my TP

Week 4 Nov (1-5), 2015.

In my Fourth week at Mazyad School, Cycle 1. In grade 2 mixed (boys and girls) 2\F – 2\E. This week was a bout math and English week as well. The week was a bit different week, it was as fun week for the students. They learned by playing. On thursday was a flag day so they made an traditional show for other students.

In this week, the English subject was about the very hungry caterpillar. The students already knew the story and they were happy with the story. The math subject was about Pattern, I like the subject and the students liked it as well, it was easy peasy for them.

The English outcomes were 2RRM1, 2WWP1, 2WC9, 2WWP3 and 2WWP4.

The math outcomes were 2PA1, 2PA2, 2PA3.

I liked when the teacher remind the students about orientation of the story book then she read the story for them. They were reading with her, because they knew the story and liked it. The target of the story to teach the students different things from the story such as vocabulary and sequence of the events and so on.

They did different English activities drew the story, sequence and order of events of the story, wrote sentences about the story and painting to make big caterpillars and what they ate according to the story.

Put the arrow on the picture to read ​​

In this week the math was very fun for the students, they had used uthentic materials to learn about different types of patterns. They learned pattern fast and they really like the patterns. I liked the teacher's steratgey when she divided the students to different groups and mixed levels then gave them materials to make patterns. The high level students helped the lowe level students. The teacher demonstrated the lesson for them and they understood it and do the activities with same helps, it was behaviorist theory.

The teacher surprised the students when she divided all students to work as pair then she gave each pairs one laptop to play pattern game online. They were very happy and work hard together. They wanted to play more and more. They understood the pattern deeply.

On Wednesday, it was my observed day of my mentor college teacher. I taught a math lesson, It was about different types of pattern. I had used different authentic materials for the activities stage. I was preparing all things before the class started. I opened the computer and opened all pages that I wanted to use ( timer, class Dojo and the game that I wanted to assessment the student in the closing stage, but the computer suddenly stopped working that made me to change my plan and taught the students without using the computer. But it was very nice day and I was very comfortable. The students understood the lesson very well. they liked the activities very much and they were very busy to do it, the activities were made patterns by using different materials Pasta, beads, shapes, color clips and so on. I didn't make math talk cards because they didn't need it and my activities were very clear for all the levels. I walked around them and checked their works. I complimented them to engage others although the activities attracted them. I taught whole class my teacher didn't help me, she was busy doing other things. In the closing stage, I asked them to give me different types of patterns (name pattern, animals pattern, color pattern, number pattern and shape pattern) and they did. I asked them to show me any pattern around them in the class and they did. I used my note to monitor them it's easy to moniter them by noting.

I did two math centers in this week, it was about pattern but by different activities. I used my activities for next class but I taught two centers. I used pasta, beads and shapes and I gave them worksheets to do. They understood and did the activities very well.

The math was very fun and they were variety good strategies that make learning math fun for students by this way they will learn better and they will like math.

On Thursday was spelling and math tests then review about what they took during the week. In the end of the class they would played any games they wanted. They like Thursdays much because they can play any things they want. They can use the computer as well.

I really love the students and they do, I used to be with them and I could manage them better than first week, but sometimes the teacher and I couldn't manage them so we had to use something else to manage them when they were be stubborn, I mean we have to use different strategies for time to time to manage the students, because sometime when we use the same strategies they will not work.

I have improved in different aspects and I learned different strategies that I can used in future. I will keep learn and improve it's the right thing I have to do to be a good teacher.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow me
  • images
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page