top of page

Fifth Week

Fifth Week March (20-23) 20

Last week in the teaching practice, it was a very short week, In this week I decided to teach whole day for two days (Sunday and Monday).On Sunday, I had full control then my mentor school gave me her feedback then on Monday, I used the corrections from my mentor and had even better control of the classes than before.

Shared reading is a big part to teach the students reading and they will learn how can they used book correclty and then read indepently. Accorcing to Kathryn Button and Margaret Johnson "The shared reading experienceoffers a way teachers can use engaging texts and authentic literacy experiences to help childrendevelop the strategies necessary for effective, independent reading".

The two days I was a real teacher and my mentor was as assistant teacher as we agreed. I did all the responsibilities the two day such as attendance, look at them in the assembly. I taught the classes one outcome but I changed a few things next day.

English:

(Students sat one the mat) (Whole class)

I read the story (this moose belongs to me) and during the story I asked them about the pictures and the events of the story. they liked the story and undertood it.

LO: WALT Write Sentences.

After the story, they moved to sit on front of the white board and it was on the mat as well. I asked them about weekend and what they did in the weekend. I wrote the chart on the board about what they said. I asked them to Draw a picture about what they did in the weekend (5 minutes).

when they finished the drawing , I gave them 10 minute to write story about the drawing and they used what I wrote on white board to write about the weekend.

I did the same on Monday but I change the writing subject and it was about ( My Best Friend).

after that, I had divided the students as groups, two groups work independently and I taught two groups.

First group, the learning outcome was WALT point as we read.

I used "Bones" book I read the book and asked them to repeat. I focued on their fingers if they point the word we read or not and I asked them about the content.

Second group, the learning outcome was WALT sound out new words.

I used "Bot on the moon" book. I asked the students to read the book and I gave them time to sound out the new word. I read the words that they couldn't read well.

Math

I warm up the students by playing math game as a whole class then I divided the students to groups. Two groups work independently and I taught two groups.

First group, WALT identify 3D shapes Sphere and cylinder.

I showed them the plastic shapes and I said the name of the shapes when they know the shapes well I asked them to walk around the class and find the shapes. when they found them I asked the to draw the shapes and I wrote the name and asked them to copy it.

Second group, WALT identify 3D shapes, Cube, Rectangular prism, triangular prism. I showed them the plastic shapes and I asked them to account how many faces and wrote the number of faces on the shapes

I asked them to find the shapes around them in the class and they found them and understood the outcome.In math class I used differentiation much because the students are in the different levels so I used different outcomes for each group. We can't teach the students somethings they already know and waste time doing the same things. Bout Differentiation I found a usful blog that talked about it http://kidblog.org/home/blogging-for-differentiation/#comment-105389

The teacher gives name for reading groups and math groups

Reading groups

1- Elephant group.

2-Tiger group

3-Monkey group

4-Penguin group

Math groups

1-Triangle

2-Square

3-Rectangle

4-Circle

I really could manage the students this time as a real teacher because I challeneged myself after Dr. Neil feedback but it was last week. I didn't want to be tough at the students but they asked me to be and I did. The students were surprised when I was very serious with them and they were very quite.

Rememeber

"Children are like wet cement, whatever falls on them makes an impression"

I remember that the teacher as a mother for the children and they will take many things from their teachers so I will be careful what I will teach and do on front of them.

Reference

http://scholarworks.wmich.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1292&context=reading_horizons

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page