top of page

Second Week

Second week (February 28 to March 2) 2016.

The second week was a bit different from the first week. I’ve used the students and many other teachers there. I had two important days, MCT’s observation and MST’s observation days. I have focused on science and I taught about habitat 3 days with different activities and extra information in each day. In addition, I have taught math and English as groups. I was full busy with the students. I’ve learned many new strategies from my mentor in the school and I discussed about many things that related to teaching and students. We planned two delivering (weekly) plan forward

My mentor learning strategies, she starts with warm up the students by different way such as sing learning songs, play high frequency words and math competition. Then she review about some lesson to whole class, she doesn’t let the students sit on the mat for a long time because, they will get bored. In the activity stage, the teacher teaches different outcomes according to the students’ levels. According to my mentor, she doesn’t want to teach the students the outcome that they already know and achieve it. So the students have different learning outcomes and the teacher used guided math but not in one day. The students rotate when they achieve the outcome to next outcome.

“[Kids] don't remember what you try to teach them. They remember what you are.”

I put the quote into my consideration, the children may forget what you teach them, but they will not forget how you make them feel if they are happy and like the teacher they will learn more and more.

During this week I've taught the following:

1LW10: describe the characteristics of habitats and recognize that different organisms live in different habitats.

I taught the whole class (WC) about habitat (desert and ocean) I wrote friendly outcome for the children to make it simple (We will learn about the desert, ocean habitat). The students repeated the new vocabulary after me then I asked them some questions to know their prior knowledge""Background knowledge is the raw material that conditions learning. It acts asmental hooks for the lodging of new information and is the basic building blockof content and skill knowledge"(corwin, n.d.). I used different activities in the opening stage that made the opening more than 10 minutes I did that by purpose. it was a new lesson for the children and I wanted to explain it more before doing the activity but my instructors advised me to make it shorter. In the activity stage, I told them the purpose of the video then showed them two videos about Ocean and Desert during the videos I asked them the questions. I showed them the videos to take the ideas about the two habitats after that they did the activity made desert and ocean by authentic materials that I was given them. They were very excited of the activity and they were discussing the two ocean while they were doing it.I was walking around the groups and asked them questions, most the groups understood the outcomes excepted the emerging group.

1LW10: Predict and think what will happen (what if ….Key?). MST’s observation

On Wednesday, I taught how the students predict and think what will happen if some things that change in the events. I used what if....as key. The lesson was very interested, they students told me varies predictions that helped me to assess them.

I wrote a hypothesis question on paper with asked them to write the reason of happening that and divided into groups and I let them answered by drawing or write words. the why question is the very opening question. My mentor asked me to ask the question and let the students think deeply and it really worked very well they had different ideas about the situations that make me surprised. when they finished the activity, I asked them to present what they were drawn and each group explained their ideas and helped me to know who understood the outcome and the activity met the outcome.

Weekly Centers:-

Center 1

I taught different centers in this week,

1MDM2: compare the mass of given objects using a pan balance.

Squares: Which one is lighter between the two?, T2 Compare the mass of given objects using a pan balance. the students understood the outcome because it was a small group and it's easily to teach limited group more than a big group. I had used objects to compare the mass by using the pan. The students recognized that the heavier object makes the pan go down lower and the lighter makes the pan go up.

Center 2: (Developing level)

1SGD2 : sort simple 2d shapes by color, size, texture or number of sides using concrete materials.

the second center was about shapes, we gave the students materials to make different shapes and I asked them to describes about what they have made.

Center 3: (Emerging level) high frequency words, I had taught students about high frequency words because they need that and we planned to teach them it every week by a different way to proof the words and repeating will help the students to learn the words and remember them.

In this week, I really got benefits from my mentor. she always gives me new information and tell me her ideas. I like her ways to deal with the students, she can manage them without anger. She has used her country strategies. I have use some her classroom management strategies and it helps me to manage the students sometimes and I am gonna use them for a while to success to manage the students well. My mentor said" If you can manage the students you will success in the other aspects because if you manage the students they will pay attention and you will able to teach them easily".

I have learned from the students as well, some the students are very smart, I like how they think. The boys like science much because they use authentic objects to do the activity while the girls prefer English and Math, because they like to use color and drawing.

References:

http://www.corwin.com/upm-data/25914_081222_Campbell_Ch1_excerpt.pdf

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page